DEFIANCE - Checkmate: The Demo Collection - 2CD
DEFIANCE Checkmate: The Demo Collection

Checkmate: The Demo Collection

€ 14,00

etichetta: Vic Records
Data di uscita: 30 novembre 2020
formato: 2CD
Condizione: Nuovo


Defiance is an American thrash metal band from Oakland, California. They played a decidedly technical style of thrash originally evoking bands like Testament, though they would later move on to playing in their own unique, more progressive thrash style.
Defiance was formed in 1985 by guitarist Brad Bowers, drummer Matt Vander Ende and bassist Mike Kaufmann. Doug Harrington joined not long after Jim Adams. In 1987 the band recruited a vocalist in Mitch Mayes. Now with a stable and complete line-up, Defiance began playing shows in the Bay Area. With the local thrash scene gaining momentum, the band attained local notoriety. Their first demo was released in 1987. Shortly afterwards Mayes left the band and was replaced by Ken Elkington. With Elkington the band issued their Hypothermia demo in 1988. This demo caught the attention of the independent metal label Roadracer Records. After dissolving in 1995, they reformed in 2005 and released their fourth studio album ‘The Prophecy’ in late 2009. They broke up once again in 2012, but announced yet another reunion in September 2019. This complete demo discography contains all the Defiance demo’s from 1986, ’88, ’89, 91 and 1994.

1 Beyond Recognition
2 Deception of the Faith
3 Checkmate
4 Steamroller
5 Buried or Burned ( inst.)
6 Violent Remedy
7 Skitz-Illusions
8 Checkmate ( demo 1989 )
9 Deception of Faith
10 Hypothermia
11 Product of Society
12 Missing in Action
13 Aftermath
14 Deadly Intensions

Disc 2
1 Born to Kill
2 M.I.A.
3 Hypothermia ( instr.)
4 Checkmate/Lockjaw live
5 Death Machine live
6 Deception of Faith live
7 Tribulation live
8 Product of Society live
9 Safe
10 Don't Play GOD
11 Wasting Creation