EMBALM - Prelude to Obscurity - DIGI CD
EMBALM Prelude to Obscurity

Prelude to Obscurity

€ 17,00 € 13,60

etichetta: 20 Buck Spin
anno: 2022
formato: DIGI CD
Condizione: Nuovo

Non disponibile

An underground brutal death metal demo grail finally unearthed after twenty-five years rotting, 20 Buck Spin presents Prelude To Obscurity! Hailing from Wisconsin in the shadow of the Milwaukee Metal Fest, Embalm formed in 1995 while in high school in the era of Ablated Records, Frozen Dawn CD compilations and IllNoiz Death Fest to name a few. Embalm created truly memorable grooves of mid-paced, catchy, and brutal-as-hell Midwest death metal, also including the customary influence of Swedish death metal and even touches of Dissection-style harmony, setting this demo apart from any forced retro nostalgia. Despite staying local, Embalm was a part of a larger network and held their own supporting bands like Rotted, Internal Bleeding and Incantation. While this collection focuses on the masterwork and tragic final demo aptly titled Prelude To Obscurity, sicko freaks will be treated to the literally impossible to obtain first Demo ’95 as well, showing the most evil and grim basement necro recordings that, while primitive and cruel, still hold minimalistic memory of true underground demo cassette culture. Also included in a rare find are the two final live tracks that sadly never made it to the studio, written after Prelude and showing the band’s insane dual vocal / multi-lingual genius for darkness, slam and tortured leads. Painstakingly remastered from original DAT and cassette tapes by Arthur Rizk, the collection includes a massive time capsule booklet of flyers, ephemera, zine reviews, and live photos from the bygone glory days of true brutal death metal! A guidepost for any new band looking for a glimpse of time tested ‘brutal stuff’. A first time co-release between two modern underground titans, 20 Buck Spin and Hospital Productions.

• Reissue of obscure Midwestern demo brutality from the ‘90s
• Includes massive 24-page booklet of flyers, old artwork, zine reviews etc
• Remastered by Arthur Rizk
• Includes a bandcamp download card
• First time co-release between 20 Buck Spin and Hospital Productions
• For fans of Fleshgrind, Deaden, Broken Hope, Dissection, Witch Vomit, Torture Rack

1 Descend into Extinction 4:00
2 Sancitified Massacre 3:49
3 Cry in Agony 4:26
4 Exquisite Tenderness 3:19
5 Intrusion 2:44
6 Repulsive Existence 2:42
7 Persistance of Suffering 2:39
8 Inhumane Thoughts 3:11
9 Unreleased Live I, 3.28.98 3:46
10 Unreleased Live II, 3.28.98 3:42